Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 17th, 2009

Tw Cen MT is not Futura;

Probably the creepiest usage of Futura ever.

Read Full Post »

L’illusionista;

Since we decided to go to a party on Valentine’s Day to mix things up a bit, Saturday will be our designated night of staying in and making dinner, our normal way of marking the holiday.

I proposed to add a twist to the festivities, however–using a rewards certificate from Amazon.com, I managed to get a copy of Fellini’s 8 1/2 after seeing how much we both enjoyed watching La Dolce Vita a few months ago.  Given that it was filmed in and around Rome, we’re going to try some Roman dishes and sip on some Montepulciano d’Abruzzo (which, by the by, is becoming more prevalent here in the States and is an extremely well-priced Italian red compared to others, but that’s another post).

Here’s the original film trailer to set the mood:

Some initial thoughts for meal ideas include Roman-style lamb, bucatini alla’amatricana, and stracciatella alla Romana, but other suggestions are  more than welcome in the comments.

Read Full Post »

I’ve been a fan of Lutz & Patmos for quite a while–eventually I’d like to have one of their supersoft cashmere sweaters–and their fall 09 collection, presented yesterday, did much to further cement my love of the line.

A combination of slouchy knits that beg to be snuggled in around the house and day ensembles that look refined without being too stuffy, it’s by far one of the more personally inspiring lines I’ve seen so far.  Between the stripes and the artful layering, my imaginary shopping cart was getting quite full as I clicked through the mere 16 photos on Style.com.

Some of my favorites:

00040m

00050m

00100m

00110m

00140m

photos from style.com

Read Full Post »